With all of the rules in basketball, it can sometimes be a little tricky trying to remember them. This is especially true in certain circumstances where it seems like the goal should not count. So, if a basketball bounces in, does it count?
Yes, if basketball bounces in, it does count. The rules simply state that so long as the ball is a live ball and is not being thrown in, it will still count as a point no matter how the ball got there. It should be noted that this will only count if the ball goes in through the top of the hoop.
Even though it may seem like it could be a violation or even a shot attempt, a basketball that bounces in does count. To learn more about this helpful topic, continue reading the article.
If a Basketball Bounces in Does it Count?
As we all know, basketball has many rules and regulations that are designed to keep the game running fairly and smoothly. With so many things being considered violations, it makes some people wonder if a bounce shot would count.
So, if a basketball bounces in, does it count? Yes, if a basketball bounces in, it does count. In fact, as long as the ball is in play, in bounds, and bounces in through the top of the hoop, it will count, no matter which team put it there.
If the basketball bounces in and goes up through the bottom of the hoop first, it will not count. This is considered a violation by NBA standards. Also, if the ball was being thrown into play when it bounced in, it will not count. The ball must be live in order for it to count.
If a Basketball Bounces Before the Buzzer, but Goes in after the Buzzer, Does it Count?
What happens if the ball bounces before the buzzer but goes into the hoop after the buzzer? In this scenario, as long as the ball hits the ground before the time runs out, it will still count if it bounces in, even after the buzzer has sounded.
If, however, the ball hits the ground after the buzzer has sounded then goes into the basket, it will not count as a goal. This would be counted as a shot attempt. Essentially, the ball is live until it touches the ground, as long as the ball was in the air before the buzzer.
So, if you are running very low on time, your best bet would be to take the shot, no matter where you are on the court, in order to attempt making a shot.
Can You Bounce a Free Throw into the Basket?
Another common question about bounce shots pertains to free throws. A free throw occurs when a player is allowed to take a shot after he or she has been fouled without any other players getting in the way. So, if you bounce a free throw, will it count?
The answer is yes, you can bounce a free throw and still gain a point, as long as your feet remain behind the free throw line on the court.
With that being said, there is a risk involved with this method. As soon as the ball hits the ground for the bounce, the ball is in play, meaning that the opposing team could easily snatch the ball up and take it down the court.
If the opposing team starts moving towards the ball before it has hit the ground, then there will be a penalty. So, if you decide to bounce your free throws, they will count as a point, but you have a much higher chance of giving the ball to your opponents.
What Are Considered Penalties During a Player’s Free Throw Shots?
Since we are on the subject of free throws, it may be important to know what counts as penalties or violations during free throw shots. There are many rules that must be followed as free throw shots are considered awards for being fouled by another player.
So, what are considered penalties or violations during a player’s free throw shots?
- If the player that has been awarded the free throw shots steps over the free throw line while shooting.
- If the players on the inbound sidelines step over the line before the free throw shot has hit the rim.
- If the players on the inbound sideline talk, yell, wave their hands, or distract the player that has been awarded the free throw shots in any way and he or she misses the shot.
- If the player that has been awarded the free throw shots fakes a shot.
- If the players touch the ball before it has hit the rim or the backboard.
- If the players nearest to the goal on the inbound sidelines are not players on the opposing team from the person that is taking the free throw shots.
There are many rules that come into play when a person is taking a free throw shot, but rest assured that if you bounce a free throw and it goes in, it will count as a point—however wise or unwise that play is from a strategic viewpoint!
Will a Full Court Shot Count if It Bounces In?
Many people decide to take full court shots when the time is about to run out and they want to try to get another few points scored in the last seconds. So, if you take a full court shot and the ball bounces in, will it count?
The answer is yes, it will count as a few points as long as the ball hit the ground before the buzzer has sounded. If the ball bounces after the time has run out, it will not count even if it bounces into the basket.
This, again, will be counted as a shot attempt rather than a goal.
With that being said, if you take a full court shot before the buzzer has sounded and then you make the basket after the buzzer has sounded, without the ball hitting the court first, it will count.
This is because the rules for basketball say that as long as the ball is on its way to the goal after the buzzer has sounded, it is considered a shot attempt and then a successful shot once it has made the basket.
So, bounce sots are not as big of deal as they may seem. As long as the time has not run out and the ball is in play, bounce shots will count as successful shots.
In conclusion, there are many rules that come with playing an accurate game of basketball. Sometimes, it can be a little difficult to keep up the rules. So, if a basketball bounces in, will it count?
Yes if a basketball bounces in, it will count as a successful shot, as long as the ball is in play, the player taking the shot is in bounds, and the ball makes the basket by going through the top of the basket rather than first going up through the bottom.
A bounce shot will even count if it is thrown from all the way across the other side of the court and during free throw shots. Hopefully will the help of this article, you are more familiar with some of the more obscure rules of basketball!